(1 customer review)

While Paris Slept: a Powerful Novel of Love, Survival and the Endurance of Hope

$34.99

While Paris Slept: a Powerful Novel of Love, Survival and the Endurance of Hope

In stock

SKU: 9781472267986 Category:
 

Description

Author: Ruth Druart
Format: Trade Paperback C Format
Publication date: 23/02/2021
Imprint: HEADLINE BOOK PUBLISHING
Pages: 512


On a platform in occupied Paris, a mother whispers goodbye.
It is the end.
But also the beginning.

‘What a book… Emotional and heartrending…absolutely phenomenal. I was on tenterhooks throughout. A wonderful achievement’ Jill Mansell

Beautiful. Powerful. Unforgettable. A stunning portrait of the brutality of war and the tenacity of love. In the tradition of Virginia Baily’s Early One Morning and M. L. Stedman’s The Light Between Oceans.

Paris 1944
A young woman’s future is torn away in a heartbeat. Herded on to a train bound for Auschwitz, in an act of desperation she entrusts her most precious possession to a stranger. All she has left now is hope.

Santa Cruz 1953
Jean-Luc thought he had left it all behind. The scar on his face a small price to pay for surviving the horrors of Nazi Occupation. Now, he has a new life in California, a family. He never expected the past to come knocking on his door.

On a darkened platform, two destinies become entangled. Their choice will change the future in ways neither could have imagined.

Beginning on an ordinary day and ending on an extraordinary one, WHILE PARIS SLEPT is an unforgettable read.

‘Both epic and intimate, this unexpected story had me completely and utterly enraptured. You’ll have your heart in your mouth and tears on your cheeks as it reaches its rich, life-affirming conclusion’ Louise Candlish

While Paris Slept made me think and cry and rage and smile at mankind’s capacity for both beautiful, selfless love and terrible, heartbreaking cruelty. Prepare to be thoroughly engrossed in this compelling book’ Natasha Lester

‘What a book, I absolutely loved it. An ingenious plot, wonderful believable characters and it moved me to tears. A fabulous read’ Lesley Pearse

‘A heartbreaking debut. The novel delves into eternal questions: How far will we go to protect our child? Is love holding tightly or letting go?’ Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library

‘A powerful and poignant debut from a brilliant and bold new novelist.’ Imogen Kealey, author of Liberation

EARLY 5 STAR READER REVIEWS FOR WHILE PARIS SLEPT

‘This book was beautiful – a book on love and courage demonstrated in different ways, showing that there is no one way to love or be brave. I was unable to stop reading *****’ Goodreads reviewer

For fans of Sophie’s Choice and Sarah’s Key, While Paris Slept is an atmospheric debut about the cost of war and the consequences of love. Impressive *****’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I loved this novel, I’m still crying. A truly beautiful book that captures the meaning of parental love in all its forms. I highly recommend this book to all my book groups. *****’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I loved While Paris Slept. I finished the novel with tears in my eyes. An uplifting novel and will be great for book clubs’ *****’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I really liked this book. It felt a lot like The Alice Network. Very well done. Highly recommend’ Goodreads reviewer

‘An excellent and thrilling novel *****’ Goodreads reviewer

Additional information

Weight 300 g

1 review for While Paris Slept: a Powerful Novel of Love, Survival and the Endurance of Hope

  1. Hedley’s Books

    A powerful and moving story for lovers of historical fiction, While Paris Slept, reflects on love, courage and the strength of family ties from different perspectives: 1950s California and 1940s Paris. – Julie

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *